Life of Liz

Out with the OLD in with the NEW

In Authentic Life, Out of the Comfort Zone, Submission ... Oh My!, The Countdown begins on January 1, 2013 at 9:27 am

Things I learned in 2012 

spoon

  • Wooden spoons – not just for cooking!
  • Red Pill – not a decongestant!
    manosphere
  • Manosphere – don’t believe everything you BELIEVE!
  • 90 – Is the new 60 (proof – GRANDMA!)
  • De-Escalation warfare – or ways I’ve learned to not incite my volatile 17 year old daughter during an argument.  Thanks Dr. Phil for drilling into my head “ask yourself, ‘what is their payout’ cause there is always a payout”dr phil
  • Medicare is very confusing and has a lot of odd options – how Grandma managed to have coverage for the past 20 years is a miracle!

Goals for 2013

  • GOD:

*Set aside time everyday to hear God’s voice – quiet, me time.  The most logical time would be getting up 30 minutes early.

*Do the homework required for my weekly Women’s group Bible Study.

*Pray for wisdom for Henry to lead our family.

  • HEALTH:

Work out 2-3 times a week, every week.  I currently do not work out in any fashion and have been blessed with very good genes.  BUT – with the additional stress of Grandma and staring down 50 in >5 years the time is NOW.  Henry’s company provides a free health club, the youngest is in kindergarten until 11:45, so there is really NO reason this can’t happen.  Feel free to motivate, harass and or shame as desired J

  • MARRIAGE:

My submission – sometimes it feels like 2 steps forward, one step back in my ability to be the wife and ‘helpmate’ I desire to be.  I’d like the upcoming year to see me more aware of my decisions and become more consistent in my actions, words and reactions to Henry.

  • MOTHERHOOD:

*Spend more time outside with my youngest after kinder pick up – this includes setting up play dates.  Note, I was very active when my oldest were young – but I now suffer from a ‘been there, done that’ mentality that needs to change!

*Take the youngest to the zoo, the aquarium, local working farm, China Town and ride the ferry to the Wharf and the beach.  Actively engage while enjoying these events and try to ‘see’ through their eyes. Surely I can commit to 6 activities over a 12 month period, right?

*Create a “me and mommy” reoccurring DATE with my 5th daughter

*Attend a weekend retreat with my 17 year old daughter

  1. Happy New Year Liz. I love the “what you learned” section. Oh, and manopause…we have many new philosophies about that!

    • Happy New Year to you also! I think this is going to be a year of tests … testing if I really am ready to ‘re-learn’ and actually change my behaviors. So far (3 days) it’s been rough. Having Grandma in our house is tough – she is an adult, but needs a lot of attention (like a kid). I hope to find some time to write a post and hopefully begin to work through this phase 🙂

  2. Great resolutions. Wishing you a very Happy New Year.

    • thanks. This is the first time in many years that I’ve actually put resolutions down AND shared them with Henry. I am very hopeful that he will help me be accountable to my goals and I will be able to accomplish these. 🙂 Happy new year to you to Sunny <>

Leave a Reply

Paradigm Shift

The majestic movement from fantasy to reality

motivationalhierarchy

Refusing to be a Victim

Affirmations of God

Finding the treasures of hope, promise and purpose in the Word of God. Calling each of us to live from who we were created to be.

candid faith

an honest perspective of following Christ and living life

vulture of critique

always pretentious, sententious, contentious, tendentious, and dissentious; sometimes conscientious; seldom abstentious; never licentious

Relationship Realities

rediscovering what is authentic & what works

Upward Social Media

Social Media Marketing

EmotionalBitch

My Bitchy Thoughts

Dalrock

Thoughts from a happily married father on a post feminist world.

Random Xpat Rantings

Contemplative dominance for the modern man

Free Northerner

Iron Sharpens Iron

On the Rock

Verus Conditio

Haley's Halo

Giving the manosphere a friendly Christian sidehug since 2010

D A R L I N G

The musings and observations of a 30 year-old woman, fighting for her femininity in an overtly feminist society.

Grey Lagoons

Seven lugs good, two lugs... uh... also good.

JudgyBitch

The radical notion that women are adults

There Is No Game

It is not the game that changes, it is only yourself.

The Private Man

Attraction and dating information for all men

Deti Nation

A Collection of Noteworthy Comments by Deti

Adventures in Red Pill Wifery

A First Officer's Log

Boys and Young Men: Attention Must Be Paid

promoting achievement among boys and young men

Average Married Dad

Red Pill Dude Improving Self, Marriage, Finances and Parenting

