Life of Liz

imagining a place where boys can be BOYS … and girls can be GIRLS

In Authentic Life, Goals, Red Pill, Wisdom on April 2, 2013 at 10:39 am

Since adopting a Red Pill view of the world, I am surprised just how hard it really is to find books and videos with strong male role models and to a lesser degree feminine/motherly role models.  I’ve surfed Netflix many times (under the anticipatory eyes of my youngest kids) trying to find a movie that will not depict the boy as dumb, irrational, or in need of a strong female to get him going  the right direction AND/OR not depict the girl as a know it all that can do it all on her own, or is very one dimensional … only to come up empty handed or end up trying to sell my son on another viewing of sandlotThe Sandlot or maybe get them hooked on ET, again!  … pretty weak!   I am open to your suggestions!!

After some searching I’ve come up with a few book titles that look promising.  I guess my older kids were somewhat sheltered from worldly influences since they were home-schooled until 5th grade – but the two youngest have the double disadvantage of living in a household with older teens while also being in public school.  Buying these two books is a mini test run to see if our household (with the inclusion of Grandma) would be conducive to a home school environment.  Both kids have asked “why can’t we do school at home like Big Sister did” and I have no good answer other than a lingering doubt if I could manage it while having Grandma living with us … and the TV on constantly and having to stop many times and help her with most anything you could imagine and still having to chauffeur the older kids around … so we’ll see how this goes.Bow-back-Cheeky-panty-222x300

Henry is still working a lot.  My dinner did not materialize since our house was full of college, high school, middle school and elementary school KIDS – but I went with the ‘pink’ and surprised him Saturday night … and he was very blessed!  I haven’t been brave enough to post part 2 of Red Pill Year in ReviewYou Wanna Put What Where? but what I will say is that the more feminine and respectful I am … the more take charge and alpha he is … so our sex life is HOT.  I realize my word choice is poor, but that is really the only way I can accurately describe it!!  And it’s always been good … but now … “oh MY!!” it is really good!

Back on topic … so after some digging, I’ve found two books that I’ve recently ordered … the first is a book titled Mommy…Why? A Titus 2 Story for Young Girls by Cindy Voss 

From Amazon … The Bible has a lot to say about bringing up your children in the “training and instruction of the Lord” (Ephesians 6:4 NIV). Today’s generation of girls are growing up in a culture that disdains Biblical femininity and homemaking. Titus 2 describes the pattern and the content for raising up the next generation. “Mommy…Why?” presents a fresh look at an old concept…the concept of the “high calling” of wife and mother.  “Mommy…Why” illustrates the blessing and privilege of this God ordained vocation. Your young daughter will gain insight into the how and the why of this special calling….a direct result of “the older women training the younger women” in a God glorifying way.

Since I’ve also been looking for ways to spend a little more ‘mommy and me time’ with my 7 year old, I am excited to begin reading this together and then also incorporate some time spent together in the kitchen.  Maybe it’s because I also have older kids, but I am very aware of worldly influences manifesting already in my young daughter.

I also ordered The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

From Amazon … Young Jody adopts an orphaned fawn he calls Flag and makes it a part of his family and his best friend. But life in the Florida backwoods is harsh, and so, as his family fights off wolves, bears, and even alligators, and faces failure in their tenuous subsistence farming, Jody must finally part with his dear animal friend.

The Yearling came up several times as a good real aloud, especially for boys.  I will keep you posted on how the mini test-run is progressing.

  1. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. Starship Troopers by Robert Heinlein.

    • Add: The Monkey King (in Chinese: Sun Wukong 孙悟空). Traditionally told as a bedtime story by Chinese parents accompanied with comic-type pictures. The story is very boy.

      There should be good and thorough English translations to choose from. Make sure to get a version with pictures or pick up an extra Chinese version with pictures.

    • Thanks Eric. I will look at both.

  2. Some other possibilities: Chronicles of Prydain (Lloyd Alexander). Ones to keep in the back pocket for when they are older : Horatio Hornblower and the Aubrey/Maturin novels (Patrick O’Brian). D’AuLaire’s books of Greek myths and Norse Myths were big favorites with both of my boys when they were younger

  3. I’m partial to the Hobbit, for reasons I’ve recently expounded in my blog.

    • My older daughters have read the Hobbit (actually all LOTR) and loved them. I don’t know if I’ll read it aloud or wait until the youngest 2 can read it on their own. The Hobbit in particular was one that was read ‘as soon as they could’ and gave them a huge boast of confidence that they could read such an impressive book! It was then re-read several times – so I am debating waiting.

  4. Maybe some older movies like Old Yeller? I know it’s sad, but maybe something in that genre. All the ones I can think of are sad like Where The Red Fern Grows! 🙂 Sorry!

  5. It’s for a little bit older kids, but when you feel comfortable showing it to them, Stand By Me is a great boy adventure story. You might just go with some old school titles. They’ve started reprinting the Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys books with more modern covers. For T.V. shows and movies, you know what I LOVED as a kid? Bewitched. It’s got old school gender roles and what kid doesn’t love magic?!?! Maybe I was just a weird kid. Lol. I hope I helped, even a little. You might also try looking for the tag “traditional gender roles” or something similar on librarything dot com as well!

Leave a Reply

Paradigm Shift

The majestic movement from fantasy to reality

motivationalhierarchy

Refusing to be a Victim

Affirmations of God

Finding the treasures of hope, promise and purpose in the Word of God. Calling each of us to live from who we were created to be.

candid faith

an honest perspective of following Christ and living life

vulture of critique

always pretentious, sententious, contentious, tendentious, and dissentious; sometimes conscientious; seldom abstentious; never licentious

Relationship Realities

rediscovering what is authentic & what works

Upward Social Media

Social Media Marketing

EmotionalBitch

My Bitchy Thoughts

Dalrock

Thoughts from a happily married father on a post feminist world.

Random Xpat Rantings

Contemplative dominance for the modern man

Free Northerner

Iron Sharpens Iron

On the Rock

Verus Conditio

Haley's Halo

Giving the manosphere a friendly Christian sidehug since 2010

D A R L I N G

The musings and observations of a 30 year-old woman, fighting for her femininity in an overtly feminist society.

Grey Lagoons

Seven lugs good, two lugs... uh... also good.

JudgyBitch

The radical notion that women are adults

There Is No Game

It is not the game that changes, it is only yourself.

The Private Man

Attraction and dating information for all men

Deti Nation

A Collection of Noteworthy Comments by Deti

Adventures in Red Pill Wifery

A First Officer's Log

Boys and Young Men: Attention Must Be Paid

promoting achievement among boys and young men

Average Married Dad

Red Pill Dude Improving Self, Marriage, Finances and Parenting

